Malibu Surfside News

Malibu Surfside News - MALIBU'S COMMUNITY FORUM INTERNET EDITION - Malibu local news and Malibu Feature Stories

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

Newest Council Members Make Panel Appointments

• Some Commission  Seats Remain Open


The Malibu City Council made appointments to commissions and other advisory boards at its meeting this week.
Incoming Councilmembers Skylar Peak and Joan House made their appointments, while Councilmember John Sibert, reelected to his second term, either affirmed his existing appointments or made new ones. Several vacancies were also filled by members.
The planning commission will have two new members when House’s appointment David Brotman takes a seat and Mayor Laura Rosenthal’s appointment Mikke Pierson takes over a vacant seat after Carol Randall stepped down from serving an interim appointment.
Three current commissioners will keep their seats after Peak tapped John Mazza to stay on board. Jeff Jennings will continue to serve on the planning panel after Sibert reaffirmed his appointment.
Roohi Stack was chosen by  Councilmember Lou La Monte, after his appointee, Joan House, was elected to a council seat.
The Parks and Recreation Commission got three new members. Peak chose Laura Principe, House tapped Steve Parks and Rosenthal picked Ren Smith to replace Dermot Stoker, who retired.
Peak served on the Parks and Rec commission, appointed by former Councilmember Pamela Conley Ulich.
Sibert had tapped Carl P. Randall, who will remain on the panel. Former Councilmember Jefferson Wagner had chosen Mark Welton. Councilmember Lou LaMonte had appointed Justine Petretti and reaffirmed that appointment.
House and Peak also made appointments to the Public Safety Commission.
House tapped Merrill May and Peak retained David Saul. Sibert affirmed his existing appointment Marlene Matlow.
Chris Frost serves as the mayor’s appointment to the safety panel. Carol Randall was chosen by La Monte.
Peak asked that Chumash representative Mati Waiya, who is  the executive director of the Wishtoyo Foundation, be appointed by the council-at-large to the Native American Cultural Resources Committee.
Peak also requested that the council-at-large appoint Andy Lyon to the Wastewater Advisory Committee.
Peak’s appointment to the Public Works Commission was Steven Karsh.
 House said she had no public works appointment at this time. Sibert affirmed his existing appointment Frank Kerze.
For the Telecommunications Commission, House tapped Kathy Wisnicki and Peak reappointed Ryan Embree.
The council members made no changes to the Building Board of Appeals and kept on the same members for the Trails Master Plan Ad Hoc Committee.

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home